More Counties Added to Proclamation of Disaster Emergency

Governor Reynolds authorized a Proclamation of Disaster Emergency for 3 more Iowa counties affected by severe weather on May 21st, 2024.

A disaster proclamation was previously issued on May 21 for Adair, Adams, Cass, Clay, Hardin, Harrison, Jasper, Kossuth, Marshall, Montgomery, Page, Palo Alto, Pottawattamie, Tama, and Warren Counties, on May 22 for Black Hawk, Buena Vista, Butler, Cedar, Clinton, Dubuque, Fayette, Franklin, Hancock, Humboldt, Iowa, Jackson, Mills, Muscatine, O’Brien, Polk and Story counties, and on May 24 for Calhoun, Cerro Gordo, Johnson, Keokuk, Marion, Scott, Shelby, Union, Washington, and Wright Counties.

Now, the Governor is allowing the aid to also be used in Dallas, Poweshiek, and Webster counties.

It also opens up relief grants of up to $5,000 for households earning up to 200 percent of the poverty level.

Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.