Pekin 1st In SEISC Girls Track Competition To Lead The Area

The Pekin varsity girls track team took the Southeast Iowa Super Conference North Division title Thursday at Mediapolis with 156 points. They had wins from Kerrigan Pope the discus (112-10), Emily Laumeyer the 1500 (5:23.42), the 800 meter medley that featured Zoey Wright, Sophie Wittrock, Hunter Lock and Sarah Eubanks (1:57.27), the 1600 meter medley made up by Remi Duwa, Eubanks, Wittrock and Wright (4:32.91) plus the 4 by 800 of Cari Duwa, Hollie Loper, R. Duwa and Laumeyer (10:30.49). Adding 2nd place finishes were Gracie Baetsle the 100 meter hurdles (18.11), Maddie Black the 800 (2:38.44), Lauren Derscheid the 3000 (11:41.27), Ellie Ledger the high jump (4-8), the 4 by 100 with Cate Roth, Emilee Linder, Ledger and Wittrock (54.41) and 4 by 400 of R. Duwa, Eubanks, Loper and Wright (4:24.79). Highland was 2nd of 9 scoring 103.

Host Fairfield was 2nd in the Southeast Conference girls track meet Thursday totaling 98 points. Varsity first place performances included Julia Fritz the discus (110-11) and Alexis Jones the 200 (27.83). Winning for the JV squad were Sophie Wallerich the 200 (29.69) along with the 4 by 100 of Allison Rebling, Brynley Allison, Blair Bowman and Hannah Simpson (57.15). The varsity 2nds were Ahsley Bloomquist the 1500 (personal best 4:56.58) and 3000 (11:03.57), Anna Dunlap the 400 meter hurdles (1:10.37), the 4 by 800 of Mallory Lyon, Hailey Pohren-Gevock, Carly Ferrel and Malory Jones (11:19.59), the 1600 meter medley that featured Danielle Breen, Ferrel, Lyon and Bloomquist (4:44.13) plus the 800 meter medley with Olivia Jones, Jill Dunlap, A. Jones and A. Dunlap (1:58.5). Mount Pleasant won the championship scoring 161. Keokuk and Washington ended up in a 3rd place tie at 47.

The Pekin boys track team was 2nd in the Super Conference North competition at Mediapolis with a score of 142. Panther victories came from Brady Millikin the 1600 (4:46.32) and 3200 (10:09.57), the shuttle hurdle relay featuring Lathe Crochet, Quinn Ledger, Cole Earnest and Devin Fraise (1:04.19), the 4 by 100 of Kennan Winn, Dayne Eckley, Crochet and Ledger (45.03), the 4 by 800 that included Zack Wise, Colten Glosser, Tanner Conger and C. Millikin (8:53.18) plus the 1600 meter medley made up by Crochet, Eckley, B. Millikn and C. Millikin (3:43.04). Adding 2nds were Earnest the 400 meter hurdles (58.89), Glosser the 1600 (4:49.04) and 4 by 200 of KJ Rohr, Eckley, Ledger and Winn (1:34.94). Wapello had 160 points to take the title. Host Mediapolis was 3rd of 8 totaling 132.

The Cardinal varsity boys track victories from the Southeast Iowa Super Conference South Division home meet Thursday included Trey Albert the long jump (19-9), Griffin Greiner the 400 (53.04) and Landon Becker the 800 (2:09.06). Coming in 2nd were Greiner the long jump (19 feet), the 4 by 100 (45.1), 4 by 400 (3:40.51), shuttle hurdle relay (1:15.21) and 800 meter medley (1:40.77). The names from each relay will be listed once they are provided. The Comets took 4th with 111 points. West Burlington Notre Dame had the top score of 145 and a half. New London finished 2nd totaling 122 and 3rd place Danville racked up 119.

Van Buren took the girls 4 by 800 (10:32.41) in the Southeast Iowa Super Conference South Division competition at Cardinal. That featured Kylee Bass, Audrey Smith, Faith Neeley and Isabel Manning. Their 2nd place finishes were Grace Davidson the long jump (15-1), Neeley the 800 (2:35.02), the 4 by 400 of Codi Welch, Emma Charbonneau, Bass and Neeley (4:34.62) plus the 4 by 100 (52.27) and 4 by 200 (1:52.91) both with Madi Bartholomew, Chloe Davidson, Manning and G. Davidson. The Warriors came in 3rd scoring 126 and a half. West Burlington Notre Dame topped the standings at 174 and runner up Danville scored 143.

The Cardinal girls had the first place 1600 meter medley in the Southeast Iowa Super Conference South meet they host Thursday. Kiya Chapin, Rachel Lewman, Alexia McClure and Sydney Pickerell turned in a time of 4:32.84. The Comets ended up 4th totaling 86 and a half points.

Fairfield got one varsity win with Tristin Waugh in the discus (140-8) during the Southeast Conference boys track meet they hosted Thursday. JV first place finishes were Dylan Harvey the 800 (2:14.78), Aidan Daugherty the 3200 (11::04.34) and Jackson Nelson the 110 meter high hurdles (20.39). Varsity 2nds included Caden Jones the 100 (11.75) and 200 (23.88), Landon Kooiker the high jump (6-3), Mark Diers the 800 (2:05.64), the 1600 meter medley made up by Drew Martin, Carter Ferrel, Alex Forrest and Bryan Wilkins (4:00.4) plust the 4 by 800 of Kevin Kretz, Dalton Rippey, Diers and Forrest (8:31.86). Mount Pleasant was the top team scoring 125. Washington finished 2nd with 87. Fairfield had the 3rd place score of 71, topping Fort Madison by 6 points.

Van Buren’s Jonah Heckenberg won the 3200 (10:46.99) in the Southeast Iowa Super Conference South Division competition at Cardinal Thursday. Warrior 2nd place performances featured Austin Denney in the 400 meter hurdles (1:00.66) and Heckenberg the 800 (2:10.72). They ended up 5th of 7 overall totaling 87 and a half points.